The Source of Our Heat

Woman bundled up in a blanket.

Today was an awful Valentine’s Day. In fact, today was probably one of the worst. Thankfully at the time of writing this post, it’s almost over. But in spite of all of its disappointments and letdowns, there were still plenty of moments that God used to remind me how His love rules above anything…and anyone.

Aside from some rather bizarre circumstances that go past mere coincidences (which I’ll get in to some other time), there was one event that really stood out. Mainly because it affected my life day in and day out, though I never really gave it much thought.

Except today. When my furnace decided to quit.

Oh, and it happened to malfunction on one of the coldest days of the year. Plus, it’s snowing outside. And collecting pretty significantly right now. Tomorrow the wind will be blowing pretty hard. Can’t wait. 😛

However, the repairman said that they could fix it. But the part wasn’t available until tomorrow. Which means that tonight, I’ll be spending it in a freezing cold house. Thanks Valentine’s Day for giving me the “cold shoulder” yet again.

I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to make it through the night, but I trust the Lord to help me sleep nonetheless. It’s funny because I’ve been listening to a lot of sermons this week on trusting Him in situations out of our control. Guess I might be being tested in that aspect right now. Hopefully I pass.

At least in the meantime, I can write about it.

You see, as I had stood outside with the snow falling fast—my key in the front door—I thought well, at least my house will be warm inside and…NOPE. I had completely forgot that there would be no heat there to give me a warm welcome.

This got me thinking how much in life we take for granted. Things we just expect will be there forever, no matter what. In that moment, I was reminded that everything is temporary. The only thing that remains unchanged is God’s grace in our lives. The unwavering love He shows us time and time again, even though we don’t deserve it.

We don’t have to earn heat. We just flip on a switch and it’s there. We never really think about it. Just like the air that we breathe. We inhale and exhale. Things we don’t really give second thought to, yet it is ultimately up to God to decide if we have these things or not.

It took me a long time to learn this, but events like today I think serve to remind us to always look to Him for the things we need…and He’ll take care of the rest.

I’m not really sure how I’ll get through tonight. But I trust Him. And I know He’ll allow me to sleep well, even without heat. If anything, He’ll just place my cat on top of me, like He’s doing now as I type this, to keep me warm. 🙂

Sleep well and stay warm, my friends. Tomorrow is another opportunity for the light of the Lord to shine upon us and warm us up.

