Strengthen Up Your Brothers & Sisters

It seems that I am continually reminded of an important concept in our spiritual journey in life. And that involves other people’s spiritual journeys.

Don’t forget to be there for your fellow brothers and sisters when you sense that they are struggling, or need an encouraging word. Too many of us take the easy street and sit back and let those folk come to us.

Well, the truth is that it’s not that easy to get a struggling person to open up about their issues. And sometimes it’s even harder the closer the relationship is.

You see, there is this stigma that perfect Christians always have to be put together at all times. So admitting there’s a problem might feel abnormal. And opening up to those who seemingly don’t have any problems can be even stranger.

But the reality is we are all human and we all have flaws. So it should come as no surprise that these types of issues might not develop so neatly and perfectly packed, ready for us to unwrap and receive. Sometimes, we have to be willing to ask the right questions at the right times, based on what He chooses to reveal to us.

Only Christ is perfect, and we are made perfect in Him.

Hebrews 10:14-16
For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy. The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says: “This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.”

I’m realizing that God tends to lead me not to those perfect families of this world, but the imperfect, broken ones that need Him more than ever. And there are times, I’ll admit, that I wish that I could live in a nicer neighborhood or be surrounded by more “put together” people. Sometimes when I’m at church and I see all these seemingly happy families, complete with two parents and well-behaved kids, and I’m filled with this torment of being an outsider. Since I come from a broken home and now a divorced background, how can I ever seem to fit in with the “in crowd” that I long to be a part of?

Yet it’s probably not His plans for me right now.

Jesus never hung out with the more desirable crowds. He spent most of His time with those in the dumps. The ones who truly needed Him. The ones who had nothing. Shame on me for thinking that I’d suddenly be in an environment where I’d constantly be surrounded by people who have their stuff together.

No, it seems that God has bigger plans for me, no matter where it is that He places me. And He certainly has bigger plans for you, wherever you find yourself. So don’t give up the fight my friend. He may not take you out of it, but He’ll certainly join you in it.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

