Keep Calm & Keep Your Sights Set

When things don’t seem to go your way, take heart and remember that it is all part of His plan.

I was re-reminded of this concept the other day when I was turned down for both a promotion and a raise within the company I presently work for. The reason I was given was quite ridiculous and extremely unfair, and my emotions skyrocketed as a result. Anger and frustration quickly filled my heart as I thought I had proven myself to the company to be deserving of it.

I found myself asking God as to how all this was part of His plan for me. He did not reveal the answers to what I was seeking, but He did give me a few other things in response to my request.

He brings calm to my heart.
It is so incredibly sneaky how the enemy uses various tactics to either blind us or distract us from the reality of truth. Whenever I stay focused on my circumstances, I can never be receptive to God’s plans. When I bow down to the idol of self, I lose touch with the only One I should really be following. As a friend of mine recently advised, putting God first in the big decisions means you put God in other decisions too. And that brings us calm to our situation.

Mark 4:37-40
A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

He helps me to believe in my unbelief.
This is something I find myself asking for when in doubt. A friend once suggested that in times of turmoil, pray to be receptive to Jesus’ Word and open to His touch. Perhaps, there is something God is wanting to show you before He takes you to the next level in your destiny. Be open to where He wants to lead you and not where you think you want to be lead.

Mark 9:21-25
Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?”

“From childhood,” he answered. “It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.”

“‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.”

Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” When Jesus saw that a crowd was running to the scene, he rebuked the impure spirit. “You deaf and mute spirit,” he said, “I command you, come out of him and never enter him again.”

He encourages me to keep my sights set on Him.
The enemy likes to keep us blinded by our own anger so we lose touch with the reality that He alone is God and is in control of our future. When we are focused on the pain of the situation, we cannot see past our own two feet—and thus, our obsession becomes focused on ourselves and not Him and His Kingdom.

Colossians 3:1-2
Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

He promises a better future the more I trust in Him.
It is important to draw on the milestones that God has left with us in our spiritual journeys. These serve as a reference point to be reminded of, especially when it feels like all hope is lost. Hearing an encouraging word from a friend is great, but seeing God in action in our lives is even greater.

Jeremiah 29:10-14
This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

He allows me to share my experiences with you.
I really don’t know most of the readers of this blog. Aside from a handful of friends I know personally, none of the other people reading this blog have introduced themselves or reached out to me. But I am aware of that it gets visitors on a daily basis thanks to the statistics I have access to. So I hope that the experiences and lessons I share with you all provide you with some confidence and encouragement in your own situations. Don’t lose heart friend. When others here on Earth fail you, He alone will always remain faithful.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

