Dealing with Our Thorns

I find what Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 12 about dealing with difficulty quite inspiring and encouraging. Even though God may not completely remove us from a troubling issue pressing upon our hearts, He often joins us in the midst of the storm to provide the strength we need to overcome it.

2 Corinthians 12:7b-10
Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.
Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

In times of turbulence, it is very important to be ministered to, or minister to yourself so that you don’t forget to look UP instead of DOWN at your circumstances.

For when dealing with difficulty, it is not us that we need to turn to for inner strength. It is He alone who provides the strength we need to get through anything.

With God all things are possible.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

