Destined for More than This

Do you ever wake up in the morning knowing that you’re destined to do something great? A feeling that there just has to be something more to your life than where it is now? Or maybe you are one of the few that actually loves what you do now and can’t think of anything else in the world you’d rather be doing. For people in the latter, life is pretty fulfilling once they are “living the dream.”

Or so it seems…

God never ceases to surprise us when He changes our course of action and sends us in a completely different direction or different route to where HE wants us to be. A prime example of this detour to destiny can be found in Genesis 37-50, which chronicles the life of Joseph, one of my favorite stories in the Bible.

I myself would have never imagined blogging about Christianity a few years back, when the only thing I was interested in was writing horror screenplays. (I still do that, but God has helped me discover other ways to use this gift to inspire others to seek Christ instead of just seeking ourselves.)

A similar thing happened to tennis great, Andre Agassi. I’m not quite sure about where he stands on his spirituality, but when he was at the height of his sports career, there was no other life for him besides a life in tennis. Yet, today, he found life beyond it to be much more rewarding than he could have ever imagined.

Today he runs the Andre Agassi Prep Academy—a tuition-free charter school for at-risk kids, which has changed the lives of hundreds of families in the Las Vegas area.

In a recent interview he held with George Knapp of KLAS-TV in Las Vegas, this was one of the more interesting questions that prompted me to write this post…

Knapp: “Do you ever think to yourself, ‘maybe tennis is the way I got here, this is what I was supposed to do. This was just a vehicle to get me to the really important work of my life?'”

Agassi: “Well that’s what I believe.  That pivotal moment when I turned the trajectory around at one of my lowest points had everything to do with this school and had everything to do with children who don’t have a choice in their lives. It had to do with me finding my reason, and once I found my reason, it became fuel for the second half of my career, which is better. It was the vehicle for the most important work of my life.”

Watch the entire interview here.

So just because you think you might be where you’re supposed to be in life doesn’t mean that’s where you’ll end up. I encourage you to not just pray for what you want, but what God wants for you in your life. That allows us to better understand His will for us—and allows us to better receive the destiny He has already planned ahead of time.

Psalm 37:4
Take delight in the Lord
and he will give you the desires of your heart.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Share it with a friend. Or like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

