One Minute of Encouragement

Recently, I got a chance to chat with Dylon, who also attends Core Creek Community Church with me. Dylon’s a guy that just radiates positive energy every time I see him. And now you can pick up on that same energy in his new YouTube channel called The One Minute Meeting. The vlog aims to help people have the best day possible, one minute at a time.

Just one minute of positive encouragement each day. How simplistically effective is that?

Well Dylon’s recent endeavor got me reflecting on how powerful just a simple moment of encouragement can be to someone. As I was heading out that same day, John Stange, the lead pastor of Core Creek, mentioned to me in passing, “Hey, I was reading your blog recently. You’re a really good writer.”

Wow, the pastor of my church takes the time to read this silly site when he could be focusing on so many other things instead? And out of the plethora of books he reads, he considers ME a good writer?

Unbeknownst to him, just that brief moment and those simple words were all it took to help kickstart me out of this new year’s depression I had been struggling with—the result of a toxic employment I’ve been held down with that the enemy loves to remind me of. (It’s ironic that the start of John’s sermon was also focused on this same notion of being held down by dwelling on the past.)

See, just a few simple words of encouragement may be all it takes to change somebody’s perspective. Even though you may think you’re too busy and have a million other things to do, simply making the effort to just smile at somebody at the very least, could have a tremendous impact. Or send someone a quick text message to let them know you’re thinking of them in a positive way. It could be that bright spot they’re searching for all week and you just happen to show up at the right time.

After, all we’re going to leave a bigger impact, not in criticizing people over their faults, but in exhibiting the same love and kindness Christ showed (and continues to show) us every single day. And He’s got the entire universe to maintain on top of it. Yet, He’s never too busy to be that light in a world that is covered by darkness and negativity.

John 8:12
When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”


Enjoy what you’re reading? Share it with a friend. Or like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

