Waiting Well

Being patient and waiting on God’s timing. If you’re like me, this is something I fail in pretty much every day.

So why does God continually subject us to this aspect that He just knows we’re always going to come up short in? What is, or what could be the point to all this torment? Okay, I get it—letting go and letting Him work it all out, right?

Well, maybe there’s more to it than just that.

Since October of last year, I’ve now applied to over eighty job applications, had two in-person interviews and received zero job offers. If being patient and enduring were the only things being taught to me here, then surely I would’ve graduated on to the next level that God wanted to take me in.

Well, not exactly.

You see, I keep on applying to places. I keep on contacting people within my network. And what does God do? He lets them all go silent. I have literally applied to most every job I’m more than qualified for and I still seem to get nowhere with it. Logically, it makes absolutely no sense to me.

Could it be that God maybe doesn’t want me to pursue the line of work my career has sent me in? Or could it be that God is trying to teach me to wait well.

When the prophet Habakkuk was instructed to be patient on God’s timing, he complained, like many of us often do…

Habakkuk 1:2
How long, Lord, must I call for help, 
but you do not listen? Or cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not save?

And God’s reply was…

Habakkuk 1:5
“Look at the nations and watch—
and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.

Habakkuk complains a second time. And God responds again…

Habakkuk 2:2-3
Then the Lord replied: “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it. For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.

The state of affairs currently in American politics might be leaving some of us wondering, “how long God, until you save us from this nonsense?” Or maybe it’s much more close to home in our own personal dilemmas that has us asking the same question.

As Dr. Tony Evans’ breaks it down in his book “Detours,” God reminds Habakkuk to wait for it. He doesn’t say how long. He doesn’t even give Habakkuk a sign. He just says one day it will come, so wait. Over and over again in the Bible, waiting on God’s timing is a theme that appears quite often.

Two such examples…

Psalm 130:5-6
I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.

Psalm 27:13-14
I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lordbe strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Yet, in Lamentations there is this concept of waiting well

Lamentations 3:25-26
The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.

But what exactly does waiting well really mean? Dr. Evans says the answer can vary depending on the situation, but overall waiting on God’s timing means not to go outside of His plan to fix it ourselves. He likens it to being sure we don’t “pull an Abraham” and find ourselves a “Hagar.” (Genesis 16 & 17) In other words, rather than taking matters into our own hands, leave them in God’s.

Even if it doesn’t make sense logically, even if it doesn’t jive with our own timing, we must continue to trust God in His timing. Abraham was almost 100 and Sarah age 90 before they had Isaac! Why? because He always knows what’s best for us and the best time to deliver us from our prisons.

Joseph wasn’t ready to lead the nation of Egypt until God finished training him for the part. Even if that training was less than desirable and involved Joseph giving up thirteen years of his life as a prisoner to varying degrees from bad to worse to unbelievable. Once God was ready to move him to the next level and promote him, He did it quickly and swiftly (Genesis 41:14-41).

So I have no doubt that when God wants to move me in my own life, He will do so also. He will deliver me from my toxic prison as long as I remember to be patient and wait well. I encourage all of us in similar situations to do the same. Take heart my friends, God’s got this.

James 5:7-11
Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains. You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near. Don’t grumble against one another, brothers and sisters, or you will be judged. The Judge is standing at the door!

Brothers and sisters, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. As you know, we count as blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Share it with a friend. Or like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

