The Devastating Effects of Depression

Today, a lot of people are talking about the tragic death of Chris Cornell. (Although I bet the majority of them haven’t recently listened to his music. Today, they probably will.) If you listen to some of the man’s lyrics overall, and even reports of his last performance, this guy was desperately trying just to tell us something. Here is an article that I found rather interesting in regards to that.

Too often, those that have been consumed by the darkness of depression are also trying to tell us something. It’s about time we started to listen.

Yeah, but how do you know for sure it was depression that led to this man’s suicide?

Well, you’re right. We will never know for sure. That’s the most frustrating thing. It’s not as easy to pinpoint as one might think. Scroll down to the bottom of this article where Cornell talks about his thoughts regarding it. After all, a person doesn’t resort to suicide as a result of joy.

In fact, I’m sure a lot of you reading this have either battled depression or have been affected by it in some form or another. I’m right there with you. Even as a Christian, it can affect us in ways we wouldn’t believe and it downright sucks. For me, it was one of the leading factors in my failed marriage.

Lots of celebrities have been in the limelight recently as a result of losing their battles with this illness, disease, plague, travesty—whatever you want to call it. It’s up to us to start having the conversations with our loved ones and take this seriously. Sure, not everyone is going to overcome it in a fallen world, but we can do what we can as fellow believers in Jesus Christ, and good human beings overall, to start recognizing the signs in on another before it’s too late.

We should not just be praying for each another on a regular basis, but actually being there for one other in an appropriate manner. Just spending some time with somebody makes a huge difference. Just sending a message to say hi means more than you think. Just being a continual reminder of how we all have a purpose and a plan for our existence in Christ Jesus serves to put things in perspective sometimes. And if the Holy Spirit equips you to do so, even sharing the good news of the Gospel helps to encourage us to fight the good fight and keep going.

However, not everyone will be receptive to it. Especially those battling depression first-hand. It’s a little known darkness that we as people need to educate ourselves on.

I remember attending a weekly support group for several months with those living thru the chronic effects of various mental illnesses, including depression. I was the only one in the group who wasn’t battling it for myself, but my wife at the time was. I remember just breaking down in tears after hearing these people relay their stories to me. I knew that this was going to be a lot harder than I thought it would be, considering that everything I thought I knew about depression was completely wrong.

There was a guy in the office today who ignorantly said, “”I don’t get it. How can somebody who has millions of dollars in resources not pay for somebody to get him thru his depression? If I had that kind of cash, I’d pay an army of people to work on my brain.”

Some people are just oblivious to how devastating the effects of depression can be. If it were that easy, then people wouldn’t be losing their lives to it so often or families being ripped apart as a result of it. But I can’t fault him for his beliefs. He doesn’t know any better. Like Christ said about us, while being hung on the cross—Forgive them Father, for they don’t know any better. (Luke 23:34a)

Thankfully (or at least I hope) Chris Cornell’s death will bring to light this very dark topic so that people can become educated on just how serious of a matter it is.

Not just for Christians, but everybody.


Enjoy what you’re reading? Share it with a friend. Or like “Beyond The Stone” on Facebook and follow on Twitter for more updates and engaging conversation!

